# Latest Windows Driver

**URL:** <https://care.contourdesign.com/t/latest-windows-driver/234>\
**Category:** PRO v2/Xpress\
**Created:** [September 29, 2026, 4:54pm UTC](https://care.contourdesign.com/t/latest-windows-driver/234 "2026-09-29T16:54:34Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![JamesRomick](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/c68b51/32.png) [@JamesRomick](https://care.contourdesign.com/u/JamesRomick)\
**Post date:** [September 29, 2026, 4:54pm UTC](https://care.contourdesign.com/t/latest-windows-driver/234/1 "2026-09-29T16:54:34Z")

</div>

Will the latest Windows Driver overwrite the old driver or just replace/update it and retain the previous driver’s settings?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![JamesRomick](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/c68b51/32.png) [@JamesRomick](https://care.contourdesign.com/u/JamesRomick)\
**Post date:** [September 29, 2026, 9:08pm UTC](https://care.contourdesign.com/t/latest-windows-driver/234/2 "2026-09-29T21:08:40Z")

</div>

So, as it turns out the answer is no. The latest driver just installs. The old driver remains on the computer. Now the test is to see which one actually controls the ShuttlePro2. And can I set the new one up and then delete the old one?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![ContourCare](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex004/user_avatar/care.contourdesign.com/contourcare/32/39_2.png) [@ContourCare](https://care.contourdesign.com/u/ContourCare)\
**Post date:** [October 13, 2026, 8:02am UTC](https://care.contourdesign.com/t/latest-windows-driver/234/3 "2026-10-13T08:02:50Z")

</div>

Hi James,

Sorry for the late answer,  
Due to an error, the post was not visible until now.

The new application and the old application are two separate programs,  
they can technically run at the same time, but that is not recommended, as the Shuttle\_Helper task, will fight each other.

You can have them running at the same time, if you wish to build your configurations while looking at the old one - and then delete the old one when you are done.  
Or if you wish to give it as a backup, go into task manage and prevent the old one from booting with Windows, so it only starts when/if you need it.

I hope this helps,
